It’s hard for me to enjoy the beautiful scenery of western Minnesota and eastern North Dakota at the end of August without being reminded of great landscape paintings. Invariably, I feel the itch to get out and paint myself. I always temper this urge by telling myself that I will just do, “some quick oil sketches.”

That’s what I told myself the other day before starting this 12×12″ painting, but three sessions later I’m still working on it.

 

FL-28-08-2016-05-40-58

The background is roughed in, and some conifers as well in the middle ground

FL-30-08-2016-09-00-14

The end of day 1 painting, all of the white space is killed, which helps the eye focus on color relationships

FL-01-09-2016-09-41-03

End of the second day’s session. Most of the major objects are blocked in. After the paint dries for several days I will work glazes in and use more of James Groves’ “Cole’s Copal Varnish” in the paint, which allows thick applications for highlights and details, without paint slumping