A year or so ago I built a “crappy” pine tool carrier to hold my growing collection of hand tools:

IMG_0304

The first dovetail I ever cut

It did the job for awhile, but I rushed the design in my fervor the learn how to dovetail properly.  That was my bad, but now I have a good reason to build another bigger, better box.

Again for this project I resorted to pine since this box will get beat to crap over my lifetime and it would be a shame to subject maple or cherry to this abuse.  A single six-foot 1×12 provided all the material I needed.

IMG_1258

1 inch at a time

Corners were all dovetailed, and I needed a pattern to lay out the shorter sides that would accept the carrier handle.  Looking around the kitchen, I found the perfect curve to copy:

IMG_1259

Nice.  Coping saw followed the line and spokeshave smoothed out the saw marks.  It got pretty intense.

IMG_1261

Andew W.K would be proud

I had just sharpened my chisel set and since I can be in a hurry when working, I managed to cut myself a few times and coat the pine in blood.  It seemed only right to give the piece a coating of blood red milk paint, omitting the inside of the box and the handle due to heavy wear.

Get a custom piece
Contact me to get a quote on a custom furniture piece. I can build just about anything out of wood so just ask. Email me at bradley.lindblad@gmail.com or text or call 701-793-5759.