After inlaying some butterly keys and building in a sweet haunched dovetail for the left leg, all I had left to do was cut some tenons and mortises to fit the other two legs.

IMG_1172

Nice tenon, poor vocab

I originally was going to cut through tenons, which would show through the top of the table.  I decided to do a haunched tenon after a solid weed of negative temps and subsequent finger arthritis.  Getting old sucks.

Then I did a dry fit:

Not too shabby. I shaved the corners of the tenons a bit so they didn’t bind or crack with seasonal humidity changes.

IMG_1221

Glue up

The last major task was to fill in the large cracks that the butterfly keys were bridging.  PC Clear Epoxy was the brand of 2-part epoxy I used, mixed 50/50 with crushed turqouise rock.

IMG_1215

Pretttty

Now it’s all over but the crying.  I spent about 4 hours sanding and finish-planing the piece.  Anything rushed in this stage will show forever.  Three coats of Tried and True varnish oil completed the piece.  It’s important to note that I sanded up to 1200 grit before applying the finish.  Satin smoothness was the result: