After the dovetail keys were installed across the large cracks at either end of the top, it was time to attach some legs.

I decided to make a 3-legged table, because why not.  On the end with one leg, I decided to use a haunched dovetail.

I began by sawing out (by hand) the general shape of the dovetail, and then sawed into the end grain to make the shoulder.  This shoulder will help with the gravitational pressure downwards.

 

IMG_1162

The quartersawn oak was tricky to work due to its tendency to split.  You can see the one shoulder were a split started.  I should be able to wick this up with some CA (super) glue.

Get a custom piece
Contact me to get a quote on a custom furniture piece. I can build just about anything out of wood so just ask. Email me at bradley.lindblad@gmail.com or text or call 701-793-5759.